Republic of Albania

Republika e Shqipëri

Note: Bamir Topi, the deputy chair of the Democratic Party of Albania, was sworn in for a five-year term as president on July 24, 2007, following his election by the People’s Assembly on July 20.

Political Status: Independent state since 1912; Communist regime established in 1946; interim democratic constitution adopted April 29, 1991; permanent constitution approved by national referendum on November 22, 1998, and signed into law by the president on November 28.

Area: 11,100 sq. mi. (28,748 sq. km.).

Population: 3,069,275 (2001C); 3,198,000 (2006E).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): TIRANË (TIRANA, 387,000), Durrës (107,000), Elbasan (90,000), Shkodër (83,000), Vlorë (80,000), Korçë (53,000).

Official Language: Albanian.

Monetary Unit: Lek (market rate November 2, 2007: 84.22 lekë = $1US).

President: (See headnote.) Gen. (Ret.) Alfred MOISIU (formerly Socialist Party ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles