World Customs Organization (WCO)/ Customs Co-Oprtion Council (CCC)

Conseil de Coopération Douanière, Organisation Mondiale des Douanes

Established: By convention signed by the 13 governments comprising the Committee for European Economic Cooperation on December 15, 1950.

Purpose: To study questions relating to cooperation in customs matters among members; to examine political and economic aspects of customs systems with the hope of achieving harmony and uniformity; to promote international cooperation in customs matters.

Headquarters: Brussels, Belgium.

Principal Organs: Council, Subordinate Committees (Technical Committee on Customs Valuation, Technical Committee on Rules of Origin, Enforcement Committee, Finance Committee, Harmonized System Committee, Permanent Technical Committee), Policy Commission (24 members), Secretariat.

Web site: None.

Secretary General: Michel Danet (France).

Membership (169): Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Benin, Bermuda, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles