Western European Union (WEU)

Established: By protocols signed in Paris, France, October 23, 1954, effective May 6, 1955.

Purpose: Collective self-defense and political collaboration in support of European unity.

Headquarters: Brussels, Belgium.

Principal Organs: Council, Inter-Parliamentary European Security and Defense Assembly, Secretariat.

Web site: www.weu.int

Secretary General: Javier Solana Madariaga (Spain).

Membership (10): Belgium, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom.

Associate Members (6): Czech Republic, Hungary, Iceland, Norway, Poland, and Turkey.

Associate Partners (8): Bulgaria, Croatia, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia, and Slovenia.

Observers (5): Austria, Denmark, Finland, Ireland, and Sweden.

Official Languages: English, French.

Origin and development. The Western European Union (WEU) is the direct successor of the five-power Brussels Treaty Organization, which was established by the United Kingdom, France, and the Benelux states through the Treaty of Economic, Social, and Cultural Collaboration ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles