West African Economic and Monetary Union (UEMOA)

Union Economique et Monétaire Ouest-Africaine

Established: By treaty signed in Dakar, Senegal, on January 10, 1994, by the seven West African countries in the CFA Franc monetary zone, with effect from August 1.

Purpose: To coordinate the economic policies of the member states, particularly with regard to human resources, territorial management, agriculture, energy, industry, mines, transportation, infrastructure, and telecommunications; to promote regional monetary and economic integration, coordinated trade policies, and a common external tariff; to create a common market based on the free circulation of people, goods, services, and capital.

Headquarters: Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso.

Principal Organs: Conference of Heads of State and Government, Council of Ministers, Commission, Court of Justice, Court of Accounts, Interparliamentary Committee.

Web site: www.uemoa.int (In French only.)

President of the Commission: Soumaila Cissé (Mali).

Membership (8): Benin, Burkina ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles