Permanent Interstate Committee on Drought Control in the Sahel (CILSS)

Comité Inter-Etats de Lutte contre la Sécheresse dans le Sahel

Established: Following a March 1973 declaration of a drought-related disaster in the Sahel by Burkina Faso (then Upper Volta), Mali, Mauritania, Niger, and Senegal.

Purpose: To overcome drought, ensure food security, fight desertification, and promote sustainable cooperative development in the Sahel region.

Headquarters: Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso.

Principal Organs: Conference of Heads of State and Government, Council of Ministers, Regional Committee for Programming and Follow-up, Executive Council, Executive Secretariat.

Web site: (In French only.)

Executive Secretary: Alhousseini Bretaudeau (Mali).

Membership (9): Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Chad, Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Senegal.

Working Languages: French and English. (The introduction of Portuguese and Arabic as working languages was approved in principle.)

Origin and development. The CILSS was formed in 1973 by Burkina Faso (then Upper ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles