Organization of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation (BSEC)

Established: As the Black Sea Economic Cooperation by political declaration signed by representatives of 11 states June 24–25, 1992, in Istanbul, Turkey; formalized as the Organization of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation by legally binding charter signed June 5, 1998, in Yalta, Ukraine, effective May 1, 1999, following requisite ratifications.

Purpose: To promote bilateral and multilateral cooperation, particularly in economic matters.

Headquarters: Istanbul, Turkey.

Principal Organs: Council of Foreign Ministers, Committee of Senior Officials, Parliamentary Assembly, Permanent International Secretariat.

Web site:

Secretary General: Leonidas Chrysanthopoulos (Greece).

Membership (12): Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, Moldova, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Turkey, Ukraine.

Observer States (13): Austria, Belarus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, France, Germany, Israel, Italy, Poland, Slovakia, Tunisia, United States.

Origin and development. The formation of an economic grouping of the nations ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles