Indian Ocean Commission (IOC)

Commission de l’Océan Indien

Established: Formation by Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles announced July 17, 1982; General Agreement of Cooperation signed January 10, 1984, in Victoria, Seychelles.

Purpose: To organize and promote regional cooperation in all sectors, with particular emphasis on economic development; to affirm an Indian Ocean identity; and to represent the Indian Ocean islands regionally and internationally.

Headquarters: Quatre Bornes, Mauritius.

Principal Organs: Council of Ministers, Committee of Permanent Liaison Officers, Secretariat.

Web site: None.

Secretary General: Callixte d’Offay (Seychelles).

Membership (5): Comoro Islands, France (representing the French Overseas Department of Réunion), Madagascar, Mauritius, Seychelles.

Origin and development. On July 17, 1982, Aneerood Jugnauth, the newly elected prime minister of Mauritius, announced at the conclusion of a state visit by President France Albert René of the Seychelles that an Indian Ocean Commission ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles