Economic Cooperation Organization (ECO)

Established: As Regional Cooperation for Development in 1964 by Iran, Pakistan, and Turkey; reactivated under present name in 1985; formally launched in 1990, following amendment of the (1977) Treaty of İzmir; membership expansion approved by heads of state summit on February 16–17, 1992; Treaty of İzmir further amended on September 14, 1996.

Purpose: To promote regional cooperation in trade, transportation, communications, tourism, cultural affairs, and economic development.

Headquarters: Tehran, Iran.

Principal Organs: Summit, Council of Ministers, Regional Planning Council, Council of Permanent Representatives, Secretariat.

Web site:

Secretary General: Khurshid Anwar (Pakistan).

Membership (10): Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Iran, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Tajikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan.

Guest: Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus.

Origin and development. The Regional Cooperation for Development (RCD), established in 1965 by Iran, Pakistan, and Turkey, achieved little progress and ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles