Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS/CEDEAO)

Communauté Economique des Etats

de l’Afrique de l’Ouest

Comunidade Economica dos Estados

da Africa do Oeste

Established: By Treaty of Lagos (Nigeria), signed May 28, 1975; amended by Treaty of Cotonou (Benin), signed July 24, 1993; entry into force of the latter announced July 30, 1995.

Purpose: “To promote cooperation and integration leading to the establishment of an economic union in West Africa in order to raise the living standards of its peoples, and to maintain and enhance economic stability, foster relations among member states and contribute to the progress and development of the African Continent.”

Headquarters: Abuja, Nigeria.

Principal Organs: Authority of Heads of State and Government, Council of Ministers, Community Parliament, Economic and Social Council, Specialized Technical Commissions, Community Court of Justice, ECOWAS Bank for Investment and Development, Executive Secretariat.


locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles