Central European Initiative (CEI)

Established: By agreement signed January 28, 1992, in Vienna, Austria, pursuant to earlier regional cooperation framework inaugurated November 11, 1989, in Budapest, Hungary, and known successively as the Quadragonale, the Pentagonale, and the Hexagonale.

Purpose: To coordinate the implementation of joint projects in fields where advantage can be obtained from the regional harmonization of policies.

Headquarters: Trieste, Italy.

Principal Organs: Meeting of Heads of Government, Conference of Foreign Ministers, Committee of National Coordinators, Executive Secretariat.

Web site: www.ceinet.org

Director General: Pietro Ercole Ago (Italy).

Membership (18): Albania, Austria, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Ukraine.

Origin and development. On the initiative of the Italian foreign minister, Gianni De Michelis, the Quadragonale grouping was created in November 1989 by ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles