Association of Caribbean States (ACS)

Associación de Estados del Caribe

Association des Etats de la Caraibe

Established: By convention signed July 24, 1994, in Cartagena de Indias, Colombia.

Purpose: To promote “economic integration, and the creation of an enhanced space of free trade and cooperation among the countries of the Caribbean… to meet the challenges and exploit the opportunities arising from the globalization of the international economy and progressive liberalization of hemispheric trade relations.”

Headquarters: Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago.

Principal Organs: Heads of State/Government Meetings, Ministerial Council, Secretariat.

Web site:

Secretary General: Dr. Rubén Arturo Silié Valdez (Dominican Republic).

Members (25): Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts-Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles