Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)

Established: At a meeting of foreign and economic ministers of 12 nations November 6–7, 1989, in Canberra, Australia; objectives and principles set forth in Seoul Declaration approved during ministerial meeting November 12–14, 1991, in Seoul, South Korea; Declaration of Institutional Arrangements adopted September 10–11, 1992, in Bangkok, Thailand.

Purpose: To provide a forum for discussion on a variety of economic issues and to promote multilateral cooperation among the region’s market-oriented economies.

Headquarters: Singapore.

Principal Organs: Economic Leaders' Meeting, Ministerial Meeting, Senior Officials' Meeting, Budget and Management Committee, Committee on Trade and Investment, Economic Committee, Secretariat.

Web site:

Executive Director: Colin Heseltine (Australia, 2007), succeeding Tran Trong Toan (Vietnam, 2006). The position has always changed annually.

Membership (21): Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles