Andean Community of Nations (Can)

Comunidad Andina de Naciones

Established: By Agreement of Cartagena (Colombia), dated May 26, 1969 (effective October 16, 1969), as modified by the Protocol of Lima, dated October 30, 1976; Decision 117, dated February 14–17, 1977; the Arequipa (Peru) Protocol, dated April 21, 1978; the Amending Protocol of the Cartagena Agreement (Trujillo Act), dated March 10, 1996; and the Sucre (Bolivia) Protocol, dated June 25, 1997.

Purpose: To promote trade integration, regional development, competitiveness, a common foreign policy, and political and social cooperation among members.

Headquarters: Lima, Peru.

Principal Organs: Presidential Council, Council of Foreign Ministers, Commission, Andean Parliament, Court of Justice, General Secretariat, Andean Development Council, Latin American Reserve Fund.

Web site:

Secretary General: Freddy Ehlers Zurita (Ecuador).

Membership (4): Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru.

Associate Members (4): Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles