Republic of Zambia

Political Status: Independent republic within the Commonwealth since October 24, 1964; under one-party, presidential-parliamentary system from 1972 to adoption of multiparty constitution on August 29, 1991.

Area: 290,584 sq. mi. (752,614 sq. km.).

Population: 10,285,631 (2000C); 12,126,000 (2006E).

Major Urban Center (2005E): LUSAKA (metropolitan area, 1,647,000).

Official Language: English.

Monetary Unit: Kwacha (official rate November 2, 2007: 3,795 kwachas = $1US).

President: Levy Patrick MWANAWASA (Movement for Multiparty Democracy); popularly elected (in disputed balloting) on December 27, 2001, and inaugurated on January 2, 2002, for a five-year term in succession to Frederick Jacob Titus CHILUBA (Movement for Multiparty Democracy); reelected for another five-year term in balloting of September 28, 2006, and inaugurated on October 3.

Vice President: Rupiah BANDA (United National Independence Party); appointed by the president on October 9, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles