Republic of Vanuatu

République de Vanuatu (French)

Ripablik blong Vanuatu (Bislama)

Political Status: Formerly the New Hebrides; became the Anglo-French Condominium of the New Hebrides in 1906; present name adopted upon becoming an independent member of the Commonwealth on July 30, 1980.

Area: 4,647 sq. mi. (12,035 sq. km.).

Population: 186,678 (1999C); 214,000 (2006E).

Major Urban Center (2005E): VILA (Port Vila, 36,600).

Official Languages: English, French, Bislama. The last, a pidgin dialect, is recognized constitutionally as the “national language,” and efforts are currently under way to accord it equal status with English and French as a medium of instruction.

Monetary Unit: Vatu (official rate November 2, 2007: 99 vatu = $1US).

President: Kalkot MATASKELEKELE; selected for a five-year term by the electoral college on August 16, 2004, succeeding Alfred Maseng NALO, who had been ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles