Oriental Republic of Uruguay

RepÚblica Oriental del Uruguay

Political Status: Independent state proclaimed in 1825; republic established in 1830; presidential-congressional system reinstated on March 1, 1985, supplanting military-controlled civilian government in power since February 1973.

Area: 68,037 sq. mi. (176,215 sq. km.).

Population: 3,241,003 (2004C); 3,437,000 (2006E). The 2004 figure excludes and the 2006 figure includes an adjustment for underenumeration.

Major Urban Center (2005E): MONTEVIDEO (1,265,000).

Official Language: Spanish.

Monetary Unit: Uruguayan Peso (market rate November 2, 2007: 21.92 pesos = $1US). The Uruguayan peso (peso uruguayo) was introduced on March 1, 1993, to replace the new peso (peso nuevo) at a rate of 1,000 to 1 (the peso nuevo had replaced the peso in 1975, also at 1,000 to 1).

President: Dr. Tabaré Ramón VÁZQUEZ Rosas (Progressive Encounter–Broad Front); elected on October ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles