United Kingdom of Great

Britain and Northern Ireland

Political Status: Constitutional monarchy, under democratic parliamentary regime.

Area: 94,249 sq. mi. (244,104 sq. km.), embracing England and Wales, 58,382 sq. mi. (151,209 sq. km.); Scotland, 30,415 sq. mi. (78,775 sq. km.); Northern Ireland, 5,452 sq. mi. (14,120 sq. km.).

Population: 58,789,194 (2001C), including England, 49,138,831; Scotland, 5,062,011; Wales, 2,903,085; Northern Ireland, 1,685,267; 60,398,000 (2006E).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): England: LONDON (urban area, 7,396,000), Birmingham (971,000), Liverpool (464,000), Leeds (451,000), Sheffield (443,000), Bristol (426,000), Manchester (390,000); Wales: CARDIFF (300,000); Scotland: EDINBURGH (442,000), Glasgow (619,000); Northern Ireland: BELFAST (276,000).

Principal Language: English (Scottish and Irish forms of Gaelic are spoken in portions of Scotland and Northern Ireland, respectively, while Welsh is spoken in northern and central Wales).

Monetary Unit: Pound Sterling (market rate November 2, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles