United Arab Emirates

al-Imarat al-Arabiyah al-Muttahidah

Political Status: Federation of six former Trucial States (Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Fujaira, Ajman, and Umm al-Qaiwain) established December 2, 1971; the seventh, Ras al-Khaima, joined in 1972.

Area: 32,278 sq. mi. (83,600 sq. km.).

Population: 2,377,453 (1995C), embracing Abu Dhabi (928,360), Dubai (674,100), Sharjah (400,400), Ras al-Khaima (164,930), Ajman (89,962), Fujaira (78,716), and Umm al-Qaiwain (41,232); 4,937,000 (2006E). Figures include noncitizens, who in 1995 represented approximately three-quarters of the population.

Major Urban Center (2005E): ABU DHABI (606,000).

Official Language: Arabic.

Monetary Unit: Dirham (official rate November 2, 2007: 3.67 dirhams = $1US).

Supreme Council: Composed of the rulers of the seven emirates (with dates of accession): Sheikh Khalifa ibn Zayed al-NUHAYYAN (Abu Dhabi, 2004), Sheikh Muhammad ibn Rashid al-MAKTUM (Dubai, 2006), Sheikh Sultan ibn Muhammad al-QASIMI (Sharjah, 1972), ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles