Republic of Uganda

Political Status: Independent member of the Commonwealth since October 9, 1962; republican constitution adopted on September 8, 1967; personal military rule (instituted on January 25, 1971) overthrown with establishment of provisional government on April 11, 1979; military regime installed on January 29, 1986; present constitution adopted on September 22, 1995, with effect from October 8.

Area: 93,104 sq. mi. (241,139 sq. km.).

Population: 24,748,977 (2002C); 28,304,000 (2006E).

Major Urban Center (2005E): KAMPALA (metropolitan area, 1,337,000).

Official Language: English (Swahili and Luganda are widely used).

Monetary Unit: New Shilling (principal rate November 2, 2007: 1,715 new shillings = $1US).

President: Lt. Gen. Yoweri Kaguta MUSEVENI; sworn in on January 29, 1986, following the overthrow of Lt. Gen. Tito OKELLO Lutwa on January 27; popularly elected on May 9, 1996, and ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles