• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Timor-Leste (East Timor)

Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste
RepÚblica Democrática de Timor-Leste

Political Status: Independent republic established May 20, 2002; constitution approved by Constituent Assembly on March 22, 2002.

Area: 5,641 sq. mi. (14,609 sq. km.)

Population: 924,642 (2004C); 953,000 (2006E).

Major Urban Center (2005E): DILI (49,000).

Official Languages: Portuguese, Tetum. A majority of Timorese are fluent in Bahasa Indonesia (a form of Malay); both it and English are “working languages.”

Monetary Unit: U.S. Dollar (see United States article for principal exchange rates).

President: José RAMOS-HORTA (nonparty); elected by popular vote on May 9, 2007; sworn in for a five-year term on May 20, succeeding Kay Rala Xanana (José Alexandre) GUSMÃO (National Congress of East Timorese Reconstruction).

Prime Minister: Kay Rala Xanana (José Alexandre) GUSMÃO (National Congress of East Timorese Reconstruction); appointed by the president on August ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles