Republic of Tajikistan

Jumhurii Tojikiston

Political Status: Designated autonomous republic within the Uzbek Soviet Socialist Republic on October 27, 1924; became constituent republic of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) on October 16, 1929; declared independence as Republic of Tajikistan on September 9, 1991; current constitution adopted by referendum on November 6, 1994.

Area: 55,250 sq. mi. (143,100 sq. km.).

Population: 6,127,493 (2000C); 6,572,000 (2006E).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): DUSHANBE (598,000), Khujand (144,000).

Official Language: Tajik, although the 1994 constitution accords Russian the status of a language of communication between nationalities.

Monetary Unit: Somoni (official rate November 2, 2007: 3.44 somoni = $1US).

President: Imomali RAKHMON (Imomali RAKHMONOV; People’s Democratic Party of Tajikistan); designated by the Supreme Soviet on November 19, 1992, upon the resignation of Akbarsho ISKANDAROV (Islamic Renaissance Party); reelected ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles