Political Status: Former British-administered territory; achieved internal self-government on January 2, 1976, and full independence within the Commonwealth on July 7, 1978.

Area: 10,639 sq. mi. (27,556 sq. km.).

Population: 409,042 (1999C); 487,000 (2006E).

Major Urban Center (2005E): HONIARA (61,000).

Official Language: English (Solomons Pidgin is the effective lingua franca).

Monetary Unit: Solomon Dollar (official rate November 2, 2007: 7.27 dollars = $1US).

Sovereign: Queen ELIZABETH II.

Governor General: Sir Nathaniel WAENA; elected by the National Parliament on June 15, 2004, and sworn in on July 7 for a five-year term, succeeding Sir John Ini LAPLI.

Prime Minister: Manasseh Damukana SOGAVARE (Solomon Islands Social Credit Party); prime minister, June 30, 2000–December 17, 2001; returned to office May 4, 2006, succeeding Snyder RINI (Association of Independent Members of Parliament), who had served only eight ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles