Slovak Republic

Slovenská Republika

Political Status: Slovak Republic proclaimed upon separation of the constituent components of the Czech and Slovak Federative Republic (see article on Czech Republic) on January 1, 1993.

Area: 18,933 sq. mi. (49,035 sq. km.).

Population: 5,379,780 (2001C); 5,390,000 (2006E).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): BRATISLAVA (423,000), Košice (234,000), Prešov (92,000).

Official Language: Slovak.

Monetary Unit: Koruna (official rate November 2, 2007: 22.99 koruny = $1US).

President: Ivan GAŠPAROVIČ (People’s Union–Movement for Democracy); popularly elected in runoff balloting on April 17, 2004, and inaugurated on June 15 for a five-year term, succeeding Rudolf SCHUSTER (Party of Civic Understanding).

Prime Minister: Robert FICO (Direction–Social Democracy); designated by the president on June 20, 2006, to form a new government following the legislative elections of June 17 and formally appointed by the president on July ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles