Republic of Singapore

Xinjiapo Gongheguo (Chinese)

Republik Singapura (Malay)

Singapur Kutiyarasu (Tamil)

Political Status: Attained self-rule within the British Commonwealth June 3, 1959; joined in formation of Malaysia on September 16, 1963; independent republic since August 9, 1965.

Area: 246 sq. mi. (636 sq. km.), including adjacent islets that encompass some 15 sq. mi. (39 sq. km.).

Population: 4,017,733 (2000C); 4,465,000 (2006E). Both figures include nonresidents, who totaled 754,524 in 2000.

Major Urban Center (2005E): SINGAPORE (urban area, 4,296,000).

Official Languages: Chinese (Mandarin is the preferred form), English, Malay, Tamil.

Monetary Unit: Singapore Dollar (market rate November 2, 2007: 1.45 dollars = $1US).

President: Sellapan Ramanathan NATHAN; declared president-elect on August 18, 1999, by Presidential Elections Commission, which had ruled other potential nominees ineligible; inaugurated on September 1 for a six-year term, succeeding ONG ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles