Saint Lucia

Political Status: Former British dependency; joined West Indies Associated States in 1967; independent member of the Commonwealth since February 22, 1979.

Area: 238 sq. mi. (616 sq. km.).

Population: 158,147 (2001C); 165,000 (2006E).

Major Urban Center (2005E): CASTRIES (14,600).

Official Language: English.

Monetary Unit: East Caribbean Dollar (official rate November 2, 2007: 2.70 dollars = $1US).

Sovereign: Queen ELIZABETH II.

Governor General: Dame Perlette LOUISY; sworn in September 17, 1997, succeeding Sir W. George MALLET.

Prime Minister: Sir John George Melvin COMPTON (United Workers' Party); served as prime minister 1964–1996; returned to office on December 15, 2006, following legislative election of December 11, succeeding Dr. Kenny Davis ANTHONY (St. Lucia Labour Party).

The Country

The second largest of the former West Indies Associated States, St. Lucia lies between Martinique and St. Vincent in ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles