Islamic Republic of Pakistan

Islami Jamhuria-e-Pakistan

Note: In legislative elections held on February 18, 2008, The Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) received 120 seats, followed by the Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz) (PML-N)with 90 seats, and the Pakistan Muslim League (Qaid-i-izam) with 51 seats.Remaining results were as follows: Muttahida Qaumi Movement, 25; Awami National Party, 13; Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal, 6; Pakistan Muslim League (Functional), 5; Pakistan People’s Party (Sherpao), 1; National People’s Party, 1; Baluchistan National Party, 1; and independents, 19. The PPP and the PML-N agreed to form a coalition government. Yousaf Raza Gilani of the Pakistan People’s Party was sworn in as prime minister on March 25.

Note: Former prime minister Benazir Bhutto was assassinated, apparently by Islamist extremists, while leaving a campaign rally in Rawalpindi on December 27, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles