Kingdom of Norway

Kongeriket Norge

Political Status: Constitutional monarchy established in 1905; under multiparty parliamentary system.

Area: 149,282 sq. mi. (386,641 sq. km.), including Svalbard and Jan Mayen (see Related Territories).

Population: 4,520,947 (2001C); 4,657,000 (2006E).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): OSLO (528,000), Bergen (240,000), Trondheim (156,000), Stavanger (113,000).

Official Language: Norwegian.

Monetary Unit: Krone (official rate November 2, 2007: 5.42 kroner = $1US).

Sovereign: King HARALD V; succeeded to the throne January 17, 1991, upon the death of his father, King OLAV V.

Heir to the Throne: Crown Prince HAAKON Magnus, son of the king.

Prime Minister: Jens STOLTENBERG (Norwegian Labor Party); appointed by the king on October 17, 2005, to succeed Kjell Magne BONDEVIK (Christian People’s Party), who had submitted his resignation on the same day, following the election of September 12.

The Country

A land ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles