Monggol Ulus

Political Status: Independent since 1921; Communist People’s Republic established November 26, 1924; multiparty system introduced by constitutional amendment of May 11, 1990; current constitution adopted January 13, 1992, in effect from February 12.

Area: 604,247 sq. mi. (1,565,000 sq. km.).

Population: 2,373,493 (2000C); 2,577,000 (2006E).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): ULAANBAATAR (Ulan Bator, 936,000), Erdenet (82,000), Darhan (64,000), Choybalsan (40,000).

Monetary Unit: Tugrik (market rate November 2, 2007: 1,177 tugriks = $1US).

Official Language: Khalkha Mongol.

President: Nambaryn ENKHBAYAR (Mongolian People’s Revolutionary Party); popularly elected for a four-year term on May 22, 2005, and sworn in on June 24, succeeding Natsagiyn BAGABANDI (Mongolian People’s Revolutionary Party).

Prime Minister: Sanj BAYAR (Mongolian People’s Revolutionary Party); elected by the State Great Hural on November 22, 2007, succeeding Miyeegombo ENKHBOLD (Mongolian People’s Revolutionary Party), who ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles