Principality of Monaco

Principauté de Monaco

Note: Legislative elections held on February 13, 2008, generated a 76.85 percent turnout, in which the Union for Monaco (UPM) retained the 21-seat share it won in the 2003 elections. The opposition Rally for Monaco (RPM) secured the remaining 3 seats.

Political Status: Independent principality founded in the 13th century; constitutional monarchy since 1911; present constitution promulgated December 17, 1962 (amended in April 2002).

Area: 0.70 sq. mi. (1.81 sq. km.).

Population: 32,020 (2000C); 33,300 (2006E).

Major Urban Center (2005E): MONACO-VILLE (1,100).

Official Language: French.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate November 2, 2007: 1 euro = $1.45US). Although not a member of the European Union (EU), Monaco was authorized by the EU to adopt the euro as its official currency and to mint a limited supply of ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles