Republic of Moldova

Republica Moldova

Political Status: Formerly the Moldavian Soviet Socialist Republic, a constituent republic of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics; declared independence as the Republic of Moldova on August 27, 1991; became sovereign member of the Commonwealth of Independent States on December 21, 1991; new constitution approved on July 28, 1994, and entered into force on August 27.

Area: 13,000 sq. mi. (33,670 sq. km.).

Population: 3,388,071 (2004C); 3,393,000 (2006E).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): CHIŞINĂU (formerly Kishinev, 596,000), Tiraspol (185,000), Tighina (125,00), Bălţi (123,000).

Official Language: Moldovan.

Monetary Unit: Moldovan leu (official rate November 2, 2007: 11.29 leu = $1US).

President: Vladimir VORONIN (Party of Communists of the Republic of Moldova); elected by the Parliament on April 4, 2001, and reelected on April 4, 2005, succeeding Petru LUCINSCHI (nonparty).

Prime Minister: ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles