United Mexican States

Estados Unidos Mexicanos

Political Status: Independence originally proclaimed 1810; present federal constitution adopted February 5, 1917.

Area: 761,600 sq. mi. (1,972,544 sq. km.).

Population: 97,483,412 (2000C); 107,659,000 (2006E). Provisional results of a 2005 census carry a total population of 103,088,021, which is substantially less than recent official estimates.

Major Urban Centers (2005E): MEXICO CITY (Federal District, 8,795,000), Guadalajara (1,645,000), Tijuana (1,474,000), Ciudad Juárez (1,454,000), Heroica Puebla de Zaragoza (1,428,000), León (1,183,000), Monterrey (1,132,000), Chihuahua (743,000), Acapulco (682,000), Mexicali (616,000), Veracruz (481,000).

Official Language: Spanish.

Monetary Unit: New Peso (market rate November 2, 2007: 10.70 pesos = $1US).

President: Felipe CALDERÓN Hinojosa (National Action Party); elected July 2, 2006, and inaugurated on December 1 for a six-year term, succeeding Vicente FOX Quesada (Nacional Action Party).

The Country

Extending southeastward from the U.S. border ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles