Republic of Malta

Repubblika ta' Malta

Political Status: Became independent within the Commonwealth on September 21, 1964; republic declared by constitutional amendment on December 13, 1974.

Area: 122 sq. mi. (316 sq. km.).

Population: 397,296 (2002C); 409,000 (2006E).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): VALLETTA (7,100), Birkirkara (22,600), Sliema (12,700).

Official Languages: Maltese, English; Italian is also widely spoken.

Monetary Unit: Maltese Lira (official rate November 2, 2007: 1 lira = $3.37US). The euro became Malta’s official currency on January 1, 2008.

President: Edward (Eddie) FENECH ADAMI (Nationalist Party); elected on March 29, 2004, to a five-year term by the House of Representatives and sworn in on April 4, succeeding Guido de MARCO (Nationalist Party).

Prime Minister: Lawrence GONZI (Nationalist Party); sworn in on March 23, 2004, to replace Edward FENECH ADAMI (Nationalist Party), who had ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles