Republic of Madagascar

Repoblikan’i Madagasikara (Malagasy)

République de Madagascar (French)

Note: The ruling I Love Madagascar (TIM) party won a landslide victory in the National Assembly balloting of September 23, 2007, securing, according to provisional results, 106 of 127 seats. Most of the remaining seats were won by independents. In the wake of the elections, President Marc Ravalomanana on October 26, 2007, announced a reshuffled cabinet, again headed by Prime Minister Charles Rabemananjara.

Political Status: Established as the Malagasy Republic within the French Community in 1958; became independent June 26, 1960; military regime established May 18, 1972; name of Democratic Republic of Madagascar and single-party system adopted in new constitution and Socialist Revolutionary Charter approved by national referendum on December 21, 1975; present name adopted in the new constitution ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles