Kyrgyz Republic

Respublika Kirgizstan (Russian)

Kyrgyz Respublikasy (Kyrgyz)

Note: On November 28, 2007, President Kurmanbek Bakiyev replaced caretaker prime minister Almazbek Atambayev with Iskenderbek Aidaraliev, pending a December 16 legislative election. Bakiyev’s True Path (Ak Zhol) won the majority, 71 seats. On December 24 Igor Chudinov was confirmed as prime minister.

Political Status: Designated autonomous republic of the Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic on February 1, 1926; became constituent republic of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) on December 5, 1936; Republic of Kyrgyzstan proclaimed December 13, 1990; independence from the USSR declared by the Kyrgyz Supreme Soviet August 31, 1991; revised constitution approved by the legislature on November 8, 2006, and signed by the president on November 9; key amendments, restoring a number of presidential powers, adopted ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles