Democratic People’s Republic of Korea

Chosŏn Minchu-chui Inmin Konghwa-guk

Political Status: Communist people’s republic established September 9, 1948.

Area: 46,540 sq. mi. (120,538 sq. km.).

Population: 21,213,378 (1993C); 23,077,000 (2006E).

Major Urban Centers (1993C): PYONGYANG (2,741,000), Nampo (731,000), Namhung (710,000), Chongjin (582,000), Kaesong (334,000).

Official Language: Korean.

Monetary Unit: Won. The won is not readily convertible. In July 2002, the government announced economic measures that included a new floating exchange rate. This rate remains under government control and is not an accurate reflection of economic reality. As of November 2, 2007, the official exchange rate was approximately 143 won = $1US. However, the unofficial market rate in 2007 was more than 2,500 won = $1US.

Chair of the National Defense Commission: KIM Jong Il (KIM Chŏng-il); served as de facto head of state from the death of ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles