Islamic Republic of Iran

Jomhori-e Islami-e Irân

Political Status: Former monarchy; Islamic Republic proclaimed April 1–2, 1979, on basis of referendum of March 30–31; present constitution adopted at referendum of December 2–3, 1979.

Area: 636,293 sq. mi. (1,648,000 sq. km.).

Population: 69,470,000 (2006E).

Major Urban Center (2005E): TEHRAN (8,600,000).

Official Language: Persian (Farsi).

Monetary Unit: Rial (official rate November 2, 2007: 9,320 rials = $1US).

Supreme Religious Leader: Ayatollah Seyed Ali KHAMENEI; elected President October 2, 1981, and sworn in October 13, following the assassination of Mohammad Ali RAJAI on August 30; reelected August 16, 1985, and sworn in for a second four-year term on October 10; named Supreme Religious Leader by the Assembly of Experts on June 4, 1989, following the death of Ayatollah Ruhollah Musavi KHOMEINI on June 3.

President: Mahmoud AHMADINEJAD; ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles