Republic of Indonesia

Republik Indonesia

Political Status: Independent republic established August 17, 1945; original constitution reinstated by presidential decree in 1959; under modified military regime from March 12, 1966, until democratic multiparty system reinvigorated following change of government on May 21, 1998.

Area: 735,354 sq. mi. (1,904,569 sq. km.).

Population: 206,264,595 (2000C); 227,326,000 (2006E). Both figures exclude East Timor, which became the independent country of Timor-Leste in 2002.

Major Urban Centers (2005E): JAKARTA (8,455,000), Surabaya (2,675,000), Bandung (2,179,000), Medan (2,009,000), Palembang (1,648,000), Tangerang (1,590,000), Semarang (1,524,000), Ujung Pandang (formerly Makassar, 1,190,000), Malang (789,000), Padang (762,000), Yogyakarta (390,000).

Official Language: Bahasa Indonesia (a form of Malay).

Monetary Unit: Rupiah (market rate November 2, 2007: 9,132.50 rupiahs = $1US).

President: Susilo Bambang YUDHOYONO (Democratic Party); elected in runoff balloting on September 20, 2004, and ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles