Republic of Guinea-Bissau

República da Guiné-Bissau

Political Status: Achieved independence from Portugal on September 10, 1974; under rule of Revolutionary Council following coup of November 14, 1980; new constitution of May 16, 1984, amended on May 4, 1991; military control imposed following coup of May 8, 1999; present constitution promulgated July 7, 1999, under direction of military junta.

Area: 13,948 sq. mi. (36,125 sq. km.).

Population: 983,367 (1991C); 1,636,000 (2006E).

Major Urban Center (2005E): BISSAU (247,000).

Official Language: Portuguese (several local languages are also spoken).

Monetary Unit: CFA Franc (official rate November 2, 2007: 452.96 francs = $1US). (The CFA franc, previously pegged to the French franc, is now permanently pegged to the euro at 655.957 CFA francs = 1 euro.)

President: João Bernardo VIEIRA (independent); elected to a five-year term after ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles