Republic of Guinea

République de Guinée

Political Status: Independent republic since October 2, 1958; under one-party presidential regime until military coup of April 3, 1984; multiparty constitution approved by referendum of December 23, 1990, providing for five-year transition to civilian government.

Area: 94,925 sq. mi. (245,857 sq. km.).

Population: 7,156,406 (1996C); 9,613,000 (2006E). Both figures include refugees from Liberia and Sierra Leone, estimated at 640,000 in 1996.

Major Urban Center (2005E): CONAKRY (1,478,000).

Official Language: French, pending adoption of Soussou or Malinké. (Six other tribal languages are also spoken.)

Monetary Unit: Guinea Franc (market rate November 2, 2007: 4221.21 francs = $1US).

President of the Republic: Gen. Lansana CONTÉ (Party of Unity and Progress); named president by the Military Committee for National Recovery (CMRN) on April 5, 1984, following the deposition on ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles