Republic of Estonia

Eesti Vabariik

Political Status: Absorption of independent state by the Soviet Union on August 6, 1940, repudiated by Estonian Supreme Council on March 30, 1990; resumption of full sovereignty declared August 20, 1991, and accepted by USSR State Council on September 6; present constitution approved in referendum of June 28, 1992.

Area: 17,462 sq. mi. (45,227 sq. km.).

Population: 1,370,000 (2000C); 1,341,000 (2006E).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): TALLINN (395,000), Tartu (101,000), Narva (68,000).

Official Language: Estonian.

Monetary Unit: Kroon (official rate November 2, 2007: 10.81 krooni = $1US). Pegged at one-eighth of a Deutsche mark (which is now pegged to the euro), the kroon was introduced on June 20, 1992. (Estonia’s adoption of the euro has been delayed until at least 2010.)

President: Toomas Hendrik ILVES (Social Democratic Party); ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles