Republic of Djibouti

République de Djibouti (French)

Jumhuriyah Djibouti (Arabic)

Political Status: Former French dependency; proclaimed independent June 27, 1977; new constitution with provisions for limited multiparty elections in effect as of September 1992; limit on the number of parties lifted in September 2002.

Area: 8,958 sq. mi. (23,200 sq. km.).

Population: 893,000 (2006E), including nonnationals. There has been no census since 1960–1961.

Major Urban Center (2005E): DJIBOUTI (599,000).

Official Languages: French and Arabic.

Monetary Unit: Djibouti Franc (official rate November 2, 2007: 175.07 francs = $1US).

President: Ismail Omar GUELLEH (Popular Rally for Progress); elected on April 9, 1999, and inaugurated for a six-year term on May 8 in succession to Hassan GOULED Aptidon (Popular Rally for Progress); reelected (as the sole candidate) to another six-year term on April 8, 2005.

Prime Minister: Dileita ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles