Česká Republika

Note: In the third round of presidential balloting on February 15, 2008, President Václav Klaus was reelected, defeating challenger Jan Švejnar in a joint session of Parliament by a vote of 141–111. Two rounds of balloting the previous week had failed to yield the required majority in each chamber for one candidate. Klaus was sworn in for a second five-year term on March 7, 2008.

Political Status: Independent Czechoslovak Republic proclaimed in 1918; People’s Republic of Czechoslovakia established June 9, 1948; redesignated Czechoslovak Socialist Republic on July 11, 1960; renamed Czech and Slovak Federative Republic on April 21, 1990; present Czech Republic proclaimed upon separation of the constituent components of the federation on January 1, 1993.

Area: 30,450 sq. mi. (78,864 sq. km.).

Population: 10,230,060 (2001C); 10,236,000 ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles