République de Côte d’Ivoire

Note: In November 1985 the United Nations responded affirmatively to a request from the Ivorian government that Côte d’Ivoire be recognized as the sole official version of what had previously been rendered in English as Ivory Coast and in Spanish as Costa de Marfil.

Political Status: Independent since August 7, 1960; present constitution adopted October 31, 1960; under de facto one-party regime prior to legalization of opposition parties on May 30, 1990; constitution suspended and governmental authority assumed by the military following a bloodless coup on December 24, 1999; new constitution providing for a return to civilian government approved by national referendum on June 23–24, 2000.

Area: 124,503 sq. mi. (322,463 sq. km.).

Population: 15,366,672 (1998C); 18,420,000 (2006E).

Major Urban Center (2005E): Abidjan (4,100,000). In March ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles