Republic of the Congo

République du Congo

Political Status: Independent since August 15, 1960; one-party People’s Republic proclaimed December 31, 1969; multiparty system authorized as of January 1, 1991; constitution approved in referendum of March 15, 1992, suspended in October 1997 following overthrow of the government; current constitution adopted by referendum of January 20, 2002.

Area: 132,046 sq. mi. (342,000 sq. km.).

Population: 2,591,271 (1996C); 4,121,000 (2006E).

Major Urban Center (2005E): BRAZZAVILLE (1,275,000).

Official Language: French.

Monetary Unit: CFA Franc (official rate November 2, 2007: 452.96 francs = $1US). (The CFA franc, previously pegged to the French franc, is now permanently pegged to the euro at 655.957 CFA francs = 1 euro.)

President: Gen. Denis SASSOU-NGUESSO (Congolese Labor Party); sworn in on October 25, 1997, following the military overthrow of the government of Pascal LISSOUBA (Pan-African ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles