Republic of China

Chung-hua Min-kuo

Note: In a presidential election on March 22, 2008, which attracted a high 75 percent turnout, Ma Ying-jeou of the Nationalist Party (Kuomintang) won 58 percent of votes, besting Frank Hsieh of the Democratic Progressive Party (DPP), who trailed with roughly 41 percent. Ma Ying-jeou replaced the DPP incumbent Chen Shui-bian upon his inauguration on May 20, returning the office to the Nationalist Party after an eight-year hiatus.

Note: In view of the Republic of China’s decision to abandon its claim that it constituted the sole legitimate representative of all of China, the Taipei Economic and Cultural Office in New York has indicated that the designation Republic of China on Taiwan (Tsai Taiwan te Chung-hua Min-kuo) is acceptable for informal usage.

Political Status: Chinese ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles