Political Status: Granted Dominion status under British North America Act of 1867; recognized as autonomous state within the Commonwealth in 1931; constitution “patriated” as of April 17, 1982.

Area: 3,855,081 sq. mi. (9,984,670 sq. km.), including inland water.

Population: 31,612,897 (2006C); 32,777,304 (2007E). The 2006 figure is unadjusted for underenumeration. (The unadjusted number in 2001 rose by 3.1% after adjustment.) The 2007 estimated figure is the government’s official population count, including adjustment for underenumeration.

Major Urban Centers (urban areas, 2006C): OTTAWA (1,130,761), Toronto (5,113,149), Montreal (3,635,571), Vancouver (2,116,581), Calgary (1,079,310), Edmonton (1,034,945), Quebec (715,515), Winnipeg (694,668), Hamilton (692,911).

Official Languages: English, French.

Monetary Unit: Canadian Dollar (market rate November 2, 2007: 1 dollars = $1.07US).

Sovereign: Queen ELIZABETH II.

Governor General: Michaëlle JEAN; appointed by Queen Elizabeth II on the advice of ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles