Republic of Cameroon

République du Cameroun

Note: In the regularly scheduled elections for the National Assembly on July 22, 2007, and in the subsequent by-elections on September 30 for 17 assembly seats that were annulled by the Supreme Court because of irregularities, the Democratic Rally of the Cameroon People won 153 seats; the Social Democratic Front, 16; the National Union for Democracy and Progress, 6; the Cameroonian Democratic Union, 4; and the Progressive Movement, 1. The cabinet was reshuffled on September 7, 2007, with Prime Minister Ephraim Inoni retaining his post.

Political Status: Independence proclaimed 1960; federation established 1961; one-party unitary republic declared June 2, 1972; multiparty system introduced under legislation approved December 6, 1990.

Area: 183,568 sq. mi. (475,442 sq. km.).

Population: 10,493,655 (1987C); 13,934,000 (2006E).

Major Urban Centers ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles