Kingdom of Bhutan


Note: In Bhutan’s first-ever elections on March 24, 2008, Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) took 45 of 47 seats in the National Assembly, decisively defeating the only significant opposition, the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), which won the remaining 2 seats. Turnout was nearly 80 percent. The DPT president, Jigmi Y Thinley, took office as prime minister on April 9, 2008.

Note: Cabinet Chair Khandu Wangchuk and six other ministers resigned on July 31, 2007, to prepare for Bhutan’s first multiparty, democratic legislative elections in 2008. Kinzang Dorji, minister for works and human settlements, was named by the king to head a small caretaker cabinet.

Political Status: Independent monarchy; under Indian guidance in international affairs since 1949.

Area: 18,147 sq. mi. (47,000 sq. km.).

Population: 672,425 (2005C); 739,000 (2006E). ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles