Azerbaijan Republic

Azerbaycan Respublikasy

Political Status: Azerbaijan Republic established under Turkish auspices in May 1918; joined the USSR as part of the Transcaucasian Soviet Federated Republic on December 30, 1922; became separate Soviet Socialist Republic on December 5, 1936; independence declared August 30, 1991, and confirmed October 18, 1991; became sovereign member of the Commonwealth of Independent States on December 21, 1991; new constitution providing for a strong presidential system adopted by national referendum on November 12, 1995, and entered into force November 27.

Area: 33,436 sq. mi. (86,600 sq. km.).

Population: 7,953,000 (1999C); 8,232,000 (2004E).

Major Urban Center (2002E): BAKU (1,830,000).

Official Language: Azeri (Azerbaijani).

Monetary Unit: Manat (official rate July 1, 2005: 4,729 manats = $1US).

President: Ilham ALIYEV (New Azerbaijan Party); elected by popular vote on October 15, 2003, and ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles