Argentine Republic

República Argentina

Political Status: Independent republic proclaimed 1816; under military regimes 1966–1973 and 1976–1983; current constitution adopted August 22, 1994.

Area: 1,068,013 sq. mi. (2,766,889 sq. km.), excluding territory claimed in Antarctica and the South Atlantic.

Population: 36,260,130 (2001C); 36,700,000 (2004E).

Major Urban Centers (including suburbs, 1996E): BUENOS AIRES (13,600,000), Rosario (1,664,000), Córdoba (1,392,000), La Plata (959,000).

Official Language: Spanish.

Monetary Unit: Peso (official rate July 1, 2005: 2.89 pesos = $1US). The peso had been at par with the dollar from 1991 to 2001, but in the wake of a severe economic crisis it was devalued for financial and international trade purposes to a rate of 1.40 pesos = $1US on January 7, 2002; concurrently, it was allowed to float for other transactions. A unified floating (albeit heavily ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles